River City Pride Festival

Today was the big River City Pride Festival in Jacksonville. I had to work around 1:30, but went for about an hour to check it out, see friends and take pictures for a slideshow (and for my show at work…). You can read more about the festival by clicking here.

Seeing so many like-minded people in the same place at the same time was refreshing. Another refreshing and unexpected part of the festival: The fairly sizable church representation. While I’m not at all religious, it was nice to be reminded that not everyone who believes in a God or Jesus thinks gays are the worst thing since the Holocaust. (Or worse than the Holocaust if you ask some people.)

The festival also reminded me of how small the gay population here is compared to bigger cities. That may seem obvious, but I had forgotten.

Anyway, here are some of the pics I took today. Nothing award-winning. Just an idea of what the event looked like (at least in the afternoon).

1
2
12
7
3
4
5
6
8
11

Respond!