Coffee Is Remarkable

My morning coffee, along with a description of me.

As I sat in Starbucks in my relatively new city last night, I couldn’t help but think of all of the great times I had at coffee shops in Jacksonville and around the country. And that made me start thinking about how coffee has been an important part of my life, not really because of drinking it. Sipping coffee at a coffee shop can also be a conversation starter. It can provide encouragement. Even inspiration.

Think about it. How many times have you “met over coffee” to discuss something important or grabbed coffee for someone important? How many times has that big idea or epiphany hit you while sitting at a coffee shop? The more I think about it, the more I realize the coffee itself plays second chair to the experiences I’ve had while drinking it.

When I think back to Jacksonville, I don’t miss much. There are some people, a few restaurants and a couple of neighborhoods. And the things I miss still don’t make me want to ever call it “home” again. But as Fall approached, my mind flashed back to last Fall and my then-best friend and I walking from my apartment to Starbucks. We’d sip from our venti cups of Pike Place – mine caffeinated, his decaf for some bizarre reason that I’ll never understand – and just chat. Of course, now he’s my boyfriend. Hell, we even met at a coffee shop!

I’ve brainstormed ideas for work and social media at coffee shops. It’s where I worked on my resume and emailed contacts nearly a year ago now, when I knew I wanted to move forward in my career. I even got the call about the opening here in Orlando while sitting at a coffee shop.

So next time you hear me extolling the virtues of coffee, remember that I’m not just a caffeine-addicted freak. I’m a caffeine-addicted freak who continues to love my coffee, not just because it tastes good or gives me energy, but because it’s helped me make wonderful memories that I will never forget. Funny how something so simple can help create remarkable moments.

Time to get back to my Pumpkin Spice Latte. It’s getting cold…

Cheers.

Respond!

